Reasons to be cheerful

When you’re a mum, sometimes it’s the smaller things in life that make you smile. And it’s easy to get bogged down by the humdrummery of life. A constant cycle of laundry, changing nappies, a lack of self care, potential isolation, missing “normal” life. The list is endless.

I knew my life was going to change, but I wasn’t really sure how. Would motherhood make me a better person? Would I run out of hours in the day? Would I get bored?

Now I’m back at work it’s easy for me to look back on the first few days of early motherhood in fondness. Nature has a wonderful way of helping you block out the negatives in life.

So, as I sit on a bench by the side of the Thames, I’m thinking of all the reasons I choose to be cheerful. It’s important to bear yourself in mind when you are in a constant cycle of looking after other people. The days are long, but they end.

I’m in my third week of full time working at the moment and I wanted to remind myself of some of the reasons I’m cheerful – and grateful!

  1. BB has learnt a new word. In typical toddler style, his new word isn’t pronounced correctly. It took me a long time studying where he was pointing before I realised his new word – “boose” meant bus.
  2. My connecting tubes matched up perfectly today. As I walked up the stairs to the train platform, a central line pulled in. Then when I reached Mile End, a district line train pulled in.
  3. The sun is shining.
  4. I finally got in to a pair of size 16 skinny jeans.
  5. I had a good hair day on Sunday.
  6. The laundry baskets are nearly empty.
  7. BB slept from 6:30 to 7am and woke up cheerful.
  8. Someone at work said how happy they are that I’m back.
  9. Mr went out and picked my lunches up for the week
  10. This is a four day week….

I have to stop there, because as I began my list (I love lists) I realised there was so much to be cheerful about. And it may seem small, and inconsequential in the grand scheme of things but for a few seconds, if not a few minutes, a sense of happiness took over and I realised that it’s easier to be thankful and cheerful than miserable.

We had a fantastic weekend and I’m definitely enjoying quality over quantity at the moment!

Alex

Leave a Reply

