Escape to the country….

Well, technically an escape to another country.

Mr and I enjoyed a long weekend in Edinburgh this weekend without BB. This is the longest we’ve ever been away without him. Our flight was ridiculously early on Thursday morning so BB stayed at my parents house on Wednesday night.

So that meant we wouldn’t see BB between Wednesday and Sunday. That’s a pretty long time. Not just for him, but for us. I was legitimately worried we’d run out of things to talk about since the large majority of our current conversations revolve around BB.

When we look at the support we have from our parents we do have to think back and appreciate how lucky we are. BB stayed at my parents from Wednesday to Friday and then he was swapped for Mr’s parents from Friday to Sunday.

We packed up and headed off. Would BB be OK? Would we rekindle our romance that is slowly being suffocated by sleepless nights and a small toddler smacking us in the face on the odd occasion that we let him get in to bed.



On the tram in to town (Mr doesn’t do early mornings particularly well!)

I couldn’t believe how excited I was. We had four whole days ahead of us full of lie ins, uninterrupted sleep, uninterrupted dinners, I got to carry my own handbag!!!!

Don’t get me wrong, I love every micro second of being a Mother. Every smile, every grin, every ounce of snot. Everything. But I’m so happy that we are now entering a generation where people are open with the fact that when you become a Mother you don’t have to leave yourself behind. You don’t have to feel guilty about spending some time to yourself. Provided your child is well looked after and happy while you’re away, there is no harm for them. And most importantly it’s a soul saver for you.

We walked around for miles paying no consequence to the time because we didn’t have to stick to anyone’s eating or sleeping routine. We could walk around shops and not have to scout out lifts. 

It felt like our life before we got married. Apart from the fact that our life has now been turned upside down and as much as we were loving the time we spent as a couple, we couldn’t wait to get home.

When I expressed concern that I’d miss BB the suggestion of FaceTime came up so we tried it. This was met with a kiss being blown and a sharpish “bye Mama!”. He wasn’t interested, he had much more important things to do. Mainly play with his wheels on the bus book and chase the dog around.

So yes, Mr and I spent a weekend getting to know each other again. But we got to know the new people that we’ve become – parents.

Now that BB is becoming this little character it’s harder to leave him behind and we won’t be disappearing off again in a hurry.

Alex 

At the wedding

So impressed with what I can do with my face when I don’t have a child swinging from my arms and more than 5 minutes to do my makeup!

Museums!

We walked for hours…


Mocktail hour 

Leave a Reply

