The first over nighter

How quickly does time fly now? The saying is true – the days are long but the weeks are short.

Our little family is finally finding it’s feet. 

Our routines are harmonious and the time we spend together is precious. 

This week has been really hectic. I work away a lot with work, but this was my first overnight stay since returning. Two long days at work with hours spent on trains meant I missed two sets of bedtimes.

I literally ran to the hotel after the first day with clients ended so I could FaceTime BB before he went to bed. He took the phone from Mr and toddled off to the kitchen, plonked himself down and jabbered away to me for ages. Our own private conversation and it was lovely. 

Mr sent me some pictures of BB just before bed time. Poking his tongue out is his latest pose. Serves me right for those hours I spent on Snapchat keeping him entertained when he was younger. 


Quick run to dinner with colleagues and while they went out for drinks and probably a rowdy night on the tiles, I declined and got myself back to the hotel in time for Eastenders. 

Now. As much as I missed Mr and BB, I was so excited to be able to set an alarm because I knew I wouldn’t be woken up at 6am. I could sleep in the middle of the bed. And the biggest luxury? If I got up in the night, I could flush the toilet without forgetting the baby was asleep and listening out for the groans of a waking baby.

It is really hard being away from both the boys in my life because of work, but it’s a part of my role that I knew was there when I applied for it and it is an important part of my job.

I bet Mr loved sleeping on my side of the bed!

Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend!

Alex 

Leave a Reply

